Creamy Cream Dory and Fabulous Awards! *flex*

I got a great surprise yesterday in the comments section of my post Vodka Raspberry and I’m really excited to tell you about it!

Tina, the owner of and blogger behind Pinay in Texas Cooking Corner, gave me not one but EIGHT (!!!) blog awards πŸ˜€ The very first award I got was the Versatile Blogger Award which was given to me by Simply Maren. That was a long time ago, about July of last year, and the new awards from Tina just came at the right time!

I’m humbled and flattered at the same time that Tina considers me as one of the bloggers worthy of these awards. Then again, I also look up to Tina and her blog and it’s really an honor to be receiving these awards from her πŸ™‚ Tina is, like me, a BatangueΓ±a who loves to cook and blog about it. She’s very much in the zone to help propagate Filipino cuisine into the culinary mainstream and you will find that obvious all throughout her blog. So friends, please give her some love by dropping by her website, Pinay in Texas Cooking Corner. I assure you that you will enjoy every dish she creates πŸ™‚

Here are the awards I got:

Now, it’s my turn to pass these awards to the bloggers that I look up to. These are my favorite bloggers because I don’t only love their creativity, the dishes they make, but also the stories they share and how they share them πŸ™‚

Michelle ~ My Life on the B List

Malou ~ Skip to Malou

Liren ~ Kitchen Confidante

Joy ~ Joy’s Misadventures

Dana ~ Dana’s Food for Thought

Gina ~ SPCookieQueen

Magic of Spice ~ The Ardent Epicure

Adora ~ Adora’s Box

Jackie ~ I Am A Feeder

Cherrie Moore ~ Sweet Cherrie Pie

 

~o~

To celebrate these awards at home, I thought of doing a very simple dish for dinner. It’s called Creamy Cream Dory πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

  • 500 grams cream dory fillets
  • 1/4 cup calamansi (or lemon) juice
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1/3 cup bread crumbs
  • canola oil for frying
  • 1/2 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup Thai chili sauce
  • 1 tablespoon ginger
  • 3 tablespoons evaporated milk
  • salt, pepper, and sugar to taste

First step I did was to get the juice out of the calamansi pieces I had and to strain the juice to take out the seeds. It’s easier to juice lemons because they’re bigger. Just to show you what a calamansi is, otherwise known as Philippine lemon, here ya go:

Next, pour the juice on to the fillets then add salt and pepper. Heat up the pan and put some canola oil for frying. Get the fillets one piece at a time, dip them in the beaten egg, then coat with the bread crumbs. Fry until golden brown on each side.

Place the fried cream dory fillets in a baking pan then set aside.

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Meanwhile, mix the mayonnaise, Thai chili sauce, evaporated milk and ginger in a bowl. Add salt, pepper and sugar to taste.

Put the mixture on the fillets then top with bread crumbs. Bake for 15-20minutes.

While baking, you may prepare the side dish you prefer to go along with the fish. As for me, I decided to make mashed potatoes. To add flavor to the potatoes, I used an organic no-salt seasoning.

Plate the cream dory with the side dish, squeeze some calamansi/lemon juice on top, and you’re ready to eat away πŸ™‚

The fish is crispy and creamy at the same time. Plus, there’s a great blend of flavors: sweet, salty, tangy and spicy. This is an awesome dish that’s very easy to make!

And there you have it, my creamy cream dory recipe πŸ˜€ Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Creamy Cream Dory and Fabulous Awards! *flex*

  1. Liren says:

    Jan, congratulations to you and thank you for sharing for the awards with me, too! I am so very flattered and honored that you thought of me πŸ™‚ Love the recipe – I wish I could find myself a kalamansi tree πŸ™‚

  2. Adora's Box says:

    I love your creamy cream dory recipe. I just love fish and eat lots of it. I get excited when I see calamansi because that is something not available to me and I miss it. Congratulations on your awards and thank you so much for graciously sharing them.

  3. spcookiequeen says:

    Congrats on all those awards, well deserved. Some many great dishes over here to choose from. I’m honored that you have passed one on to me. You’ve made my day, I have a cold again. Sigh. That dory sounds so good.
    -Gina-

  4. Cherrie says:

    Congrats on receiving the awards. You truly deserve it. And thanks so much on passing them on to me and my humble little blog.

    The dory looks delish. Love the idea of baking the fish with the mayo and bread crumbs. yum!

  5. Michelle - My Life on the B-List says:

    Hi Jen wow what a fantastic surprise! I was feeling a bit down today but reading this put a big smile on my face (literally from ear to ear) so THANK YOU! πŸ™‚ I’m truly honored. Congratulations also on your awards! You truly deserve them, and there’s no better of celebrating than with good food. I’m definitely trying out your recipe. πŸ™‚

  6. Magic of Spice says:

    Congratulations on your awards, very well deserved! And thank you so much for the honor of passing them on to me πŸ™‚
    About this dish though, I love the name and it looks fantastic!

  7. skip to malou says:

    Hi Jan!

    What a delightful way to wake up, getting these awards from you! Im flattered. I haven’t gotten any awards lately haha.
    And yeah I’m ready to fork into your fish… it looks easy to prepare… and very timely for the Lenten season.

    thanks again Jen! I’m super thrilled!

    xo,
    Malou

Leave a comment