Chicken Piccata with Capers

Here’s another healthy and easy chicken dish for people out there who, like me, are on a diet 😛 I’m really glad I learned how to cook because it gives me the chance to channel my passion for cooking into creating something good and healthy. Like this dish for instance!

In case you don’t know, Piccata is an Italian word that references a way of preparing food. It means sliced, sauteed and served in a sauce containing lemon, butter, and spices, usually parsley. My version of chicken piccata is healthified and Filipinized, if there are any such words 😛

It’s healthified because I didn’t use butter but 0% cholesterol and 0% trans-fat canola oil. And it’s Filipinized because instead of using lemon, I used calamansi 🙂

You’ll need:

  • 3 chicken breast fillets, without the skin (~20 cal./fillet)
  • 1/4 tsp. paprika (~6 cal./tsp)
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper (~0 cal.)
  • 2 tsp. light canola oil (~40 cal./tsp)
  • 1/4 cup. chicken stock [1/2 chicken cube dissolved in 1/4 cup hot water] (~10 cal./cube)
  • 2 tsp. calamansi juice (~0 cal.)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. capers (~2/tbsp)

The dish can serve 3 and each serving is roughly 110-115 calories (The Calorie Counter).

Mix paprika and pepper together and coat each side of the chicken fillet with the spices.

Heat up a grilling pan and pour the canola oil. When oil is heated (heat on medium to high), sear your chicken fillets for about 3 minutes per side. Take out your chicken.

Pour the chicken stock on to the same pan. Add the calamansi juice and capers. Let simmer for about 3 minutes. Pour over your chicken and serve 🙂

 

 

I love every bite of the chicken piccata. It’s very tasteful and delicious! I was actually tempted to eat rice but I triumphed over the urge  and had it as my stand alone dinner… ehrmm, with pineapple tidbits for dessert 😛

Please try this at home, you won’t regret it, promise! 🙂

Cheers to healthy eating and cheers to my 100th post!nContest details comin’ up within the week 🙂

One thought on “Chicken Piccata with Capers

Leave a comment